Cassidy and Stanaway both crash out of Renault classes

Photo: Formula Renault 3.5 start

Racing in separate Renault single seater classes, both Richie Stanaway and Nick Cassidy retired from their first races at Motorland Aragon in Spain.   Stanaway stalled on the line in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series race while Cassidy was involved in a multicar pile up on the first lap of his Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 debut.  Both classes have a second race tonight.


Formula Renault 3.5 Series
Nick Yelloly (Comtec Racing) scored his first ever Formula Renault 3.5 Series win as the 2012 season got under way in Spain. The British driver dug deep in the closing stages to hold off the charging Jules Bianchi (Tech 1 Racing), while Kevin Magnussen (Carlin) slipped into third when Carlos Huertas (Fortec Motorsports) suffered a technical problem in the final laps. 

Bianchi was later disqualified after stewards detected an irregularity in the stacking of the limited slip differential discs of the Tech 1 Racing car.

Both Daniil Move (P1 Motorsport) and Stanaway stalled on the grid, the New Zealander being rammed in the back by Giovanni Venturini (BVM Target). All three were forced to abandon, while Alexander Rossi (Arden Caterham), Nico Müller (International Draco Racing), Korjus and Walter Grubmüller (P1 Motorsport) came together at the first turn, prompting the safety car to put in an appearance as the marshals cleared the track

Stanaway had qualified fourth fastest.  Arthur Pic (DAMS) took pole.

Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0
Third in last year’s Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship and rightly feared by the rest of the field, former Toyota Racing Series driver Daniil Kvyat (Koiranen Motorsport) backed up his status as one of the favourites to lift the 2012 crown by winning the season’s opening race from pole position.


In an eventful curtain-raiser that ended when the red flag came out after a crash and a sudden shower, the Russian topped the podium ahead of Nyck de Vries (R-Ace GP), who claimed a surprise second in his first outing in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, and Stoffel Vandoorne (Josef Kaufmann Racing) in third.

Making the perfect start, the Russian pulled away from De Vries, Vandoorne, Norman Nato (RC Formula) and Pierre Gasly (R-Ace GP), while behind them a mass pile-up involving Oscar Tunjo (Tech 1 Racing), Nick Cassidy (Fortec Motorsports), Jordan King (Manor MP Motorsport), Johan Jokinen (Manor MP Motorsport), Pieter Schothorst (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Yu Kanamaru (KTR) gave the track marshals an early problem, though the wreckage was cleared by the end of lap one.

Media: NZ Motor Racing/ Renaultsport 6th May 12
Racetech Ad 2